Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

A dazzling new novel from the award-winning Karl Stead.

The Necessary Angel

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

"It's unlikely that a more intelligent, amusing and yet disturbing novel will appear this autumn." Scotsman
On The Island, just as on many other islands, marriages are unhappy, people fall in love and the seasons pass. The town of Aberdeen is no different, until the eart... read more

Aftershocks

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

" Paula] Saunders skillfully illuminates how time heals certain wounds while deepening others. . . . A mediation of the violence of American ambition."--The New York Times Book Review "A deeply involving portrait of the American postwar family" (Jennifer Egan) about s... read more

The Distance Home

Entertainment Weekly's 20 New Books to Read in September Nylon's 12 Great New Books To Read This September Newsweek's Best Books to Read in September 2018 Library Journal's Best Debut Novels of 2018 BookPage's Most Anticipated Fall 2018 Fiction In h... read more

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing - A Novel

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

The hilarious second novel, and Sunday Times No 1 Bestseller, from author of the smash hit Why Mummy Drinks.Welcome to Mummy's world...The Boy Child Peter is connected to his iPad by an umbilical cord, The Girl Child Jane is desperate to make her fortune as an Instagram l... read more

Why Mummy Swears

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

For fans of The Book Thief, a powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 that stays with you long after the final page is read.
Margot Baumann hasleft school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. Butthis is Germany in 1944, and t... read more

The Love That I Have

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, France
Werner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Re... read more

The Last of Our Kind

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'A powerful tragedy' Independent Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of sinister obsession and friendship most deadly. . . Art historian Gavin and his wife Hannah, along with their young son Giles, arrive in a quiet seaside town in Belgium to e... read more

The Holiday Friend

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony Burgess 'A maliciously witty account of literary skulduggery and loft pretensions.' TLS Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson with this wickedly funny tragicomedy about a destitute En... read more

The Unspeakable Skipton

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

Plunge yourself into the wry world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this story of seduction and marriage, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard and Barbara Pym. Living out her happy teenage years in south-west London, Christine's only worries are living in the shad... read more

An Impossible Marriage

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'Striking first novel . . . qualities of vitality and humour which set it apart.' New York Times Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson through her explosive, banned debut, This Bed Thy Centre. . . Sixteen year old Elsie Cotton, who lives with her widowed moth... read more

This Bed Thy Centre

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'A very cool and intelligent writer' TLS Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard. Writer Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make he... read more

The Last Resort