Category:

 Fiction Historical

To those around her she was a loyal subject. In her heart she was a traitor.1399: England's crown is under threat. King Richard II holds onto his power by an ever-weakening thread, with exiled Henry of Lancaster back to reclaim his place on the throne. For Elizabeth Morti... read more

Queen of the North

Category:

 Fiction Historical

Levi's War follows on from The Keeper of Secrets and Rachel's Legacy, tracing the story of the eldest Horowitz son, Levi, who is smuggled out of Berlin to London the day after the Kristallnacht in 1938, where he makes the momentous decision to be parachuted back behind enemy line... read more

Levi's War

Category:

 Fiction Historical

Series:Vindolanda

AD 100: Flavius Ferox, Briton and Roman centurion, is finding it hard to keep the peace. Based at Vindolanda - an army fort on the northern frontier of Britannia and the entire Roman world - he feels the eyes of his enemies on him at all hours. Ambitious l... read more

The Encircling Sea (Vindolanda #2)

Category:

 Fiction Historical

She'll betray her King to crown her son. When Edward of York takes back the English crown, the Wars of the Roses scatter the Lancastrian nobility and young Henry Tudor, with a strong claim to the throne, is forced into exile. Recently widowed and vulnerable, his mother, Lady... read more

Nophoto

Category:

 Fiction Historical

In 1930s Malaya a sixteen-year-old girl, dreaming of marriage to her sweetheart, is sold as a concubine to a rich old man desperate for an heir. Trapped, and bullied by his spiteful wife, Yu Lan plans to escape with her baby son, despite knowing that they will pursue h... read more

The Concubine's Child

The young Robert Louis Stevenson, living in a boarding house in San Francisco while waiting for his beloved's divorce from her feckless husband, dreamed of writing a soaring novel about his land... read more

The Adventures of John Carson in Several Quarters of the World["A Novel of Robert Louis Stevenson"]

Category:

 Fiction Historical

Series:The Burning Chambers

Carcassonne 1562: Nineteen-year-old Minou Joubert receives an anonymous letter at her father's bookshop. Sealed with a distinctive family crest, it contains just five words: SHE KNOWS THAT YOU LIVE.But before Minou can decipher the mysterious message, a chance encoun... read more

The Burning Chambers

In a sweeping narrative encompassing political intrigue, illicit love affairs and even a murder mystery, Nancy Goldstone tells the riveting story of a queen who lost her... read more

Daughters of the Winter Queen Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots

Category:

 Fiction Historical

An intimate, intense, beautifully realised novel of possession, power and loss of innocence, for fans of Mister Pip and The Poisonwood Bible.

Mr Peacock's Possessions

Category:

 Fiction Historical

Awards:Long-listed for Desmond Elliott Prize 2017 (UK).

Longlisted for the 2017 Desmond Elliott Prize 'Alan McMonagle possesses a style that is all his own and I found his first novel compelling from start to finish. Read it.' Patrick McCabe, author of The Butcher Boy Ithaca, the ferociously funny and unbelievably poignant debut novel fro... read more

Ithaca

Category:

 Fiction Historical

In the Roman Empire no one is safe from the sting of betrayal: man, woman - or child.As a boy, Nero's royal heritage becomes a threat to his very life, first when the mad emperor Caligula tries to drown him, then when his great aunt attempts to secure her ... read more

The Confessions of a Young Nero

Category:

 Fiction Historical

In the Name of the Family - as Blood and Beauty did before - holds up a mirror to a turbulent moment of history, sweeping aside the myths to bring alive the real Borgia family; complicated, brutal, passionate and glorious. Here is a thrilling exploration of the ... read more

In The Name of the Family