Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

Books recently reviewed by Doris on Newstalk ZB with Leighton Smith. Tune in every Friday from 11.40 to here Doris talk about the latest releases.

Root to Bloom equips readers with the knowledge and tools to grow, eat and celebrate every edible part of the plant (just as the nose-to-tail movement has recast people's understanding and appreciate of meat). The book will ... read more

Root to Bloom: A Modern Guide to Whole Plant Use

A double biography of Virginia Woolf and Vita Sackville-West, their friendship and love affair. 
Virginia Woolf is one of the world's most famous writers - a leading light of literary modernism and feminism - and a British icon. ... read more

Vita and Virginia: A Double Life

The world's most beloved detective, Hercule Poirot - the legendary star of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and most recently The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket-returns in a stylish, diabolically cl... read more

The Mystery of Three Quarters: the New Hercule Poirot Mystery

Sam Hunt is New Zealand¿s best-known and, arguably, best-loved poet. Coming to it: Selected poems is the latest collection of Hunt¿s poems to be published. It is intended to replace both Doubtless: New and selected and Knucklebones: Po... read more

Coming To It: Selected Poems

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

"The status beach read of the summer" Sunday Times StyleKathy is a writer. Kathy is getting married. It's the summer of 2017 and the whole world is falling apart.From a Tuscan hotel for the super-rich to a Brexit-paralysed UK, Kathy spends the first summer of her 40s try... read more

Crudo

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
"Exquisite. A must-read." --Kristin Hannah
This paperback edition includes a color reproduction of Andrew Wyeth's painting Christina's World, along with a Q&A with the author, and a bonus short story, "Stra... read more

A Piece of the World

From the author of "the wonderfully ingenious and altogether satisfying" After The Crash (Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review).
 
A fatal accident in the past, broken lives, family secrets...Michel Bussi serves up a gripping thriller, s... read more

Time is a Killer

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

The remarkable story of the project undertaken by Paul Bangay and Monash University to transform a neglected car park at the university's Prato campus in Tuscany into a traditional Renassance walled garden, befitting... read more

The Italian Garden: Restoring a Renaissance Garden in Tuscany

You are born into it or marry in. Loyalty is absolute, bloodshed revered and you kill or go to your grave before betraying The Family. This code of omerta is how the 'Ndrangheta became the wo... read more

The Good Mothers: The Story of Three Woman Who Took on the World's Most Powerful Mafia

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

"No one captures the exuberant passions and inner struggles of women like Elizabeth Church."--Martha Hall Kelly, author of Lilac Girls
 
A powerful novel about a gutsy showgirl who tries to conquer her past amongst the glamour of 1960s ... read more

All the Beautiful Girls

From the Folio Prize-shortlisted author of Plainsong, Eventide and Benediction, a stunning novel about finding happiness.SOON TO BE A MOTION PICTURE"Absolutely beautiful" The Times"Gripping and tender" Publishers WeeklyThis is a love story. A sto... read more

Our Souls at Night: Film Tie-in

Addictive, dark, thrilling and full of twists! You won't want to miss this mesmerising debut from a fresh new voice in psychological suspense. Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty All she wants...is everything you have! How far ... read more

The Last Mrs Parrish