All Change The Cazalet Chronicles 5

Author(s): Elizabeth Jane Howard

Fiction Historical

This is the final book in the landmark Cazalet Chronicles, recently broadcast on BBC Radio 4. It is the 1950s and as the Cazalets' beloved matriarch, the Duchy, passes away, she takes with her the last remnants of a world - of great houses and servants, of class and tradition - in which the Cazalets have thrived. Louise, now divorced, becomes entangled in a painful affair; while Polly and Clary must balance marriage and motherhood with their own ideas and ambitions. Hugh and Edward, now in their sixties, are feeling ill-equipped for this modern world; while Villy, long abandoned by her husband, must at last learn to live independently. But it is Rachel, who has always lived for others, who will face her greatest challenges yet...Events will converge one Christmas at Home Place; where a new generation of Cazalets will descend. Only one thing is certain: nothing will ever be the same again..."Elizabeth Jane Howard is one of those novelists who shows, through her work, what the novel is for...She helps us to do the necessary thing - open our eyes and our hearts". (Hilary Mantel).

Product Information

Elizabeth Jane Howard is the author of fourteen highly acclaimed novels. The Cazalet Chronicles - The Light Years, Marking Time, Confusion and Casting Off - have become established as modern classics and have been adapted for a major BBC television series and most recently for BBC Radio 4. All Change is the fifth book in the series. In 2002 Macmillan published Elizabeth Jane Howard's autobiography, Slipstream. In that same year she was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

General Fields

  • : 9781447247166
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Mantle
  • : 0.732
  • : October 2013
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : November 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Elizabeth Jane Howard
  • : Paperback
  • : Open market ed
  • : English
  • : 823.914
  • : 400