Product detail

An Impossible Marriage

An Impossible Marriage

Author: Pamela Hansford-Johnson
$24.99(NZD)  inc GST
Description

Plunge yourself into the wry world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this story of seduction and marriage, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard and Barbara Pym.

Living out her happy teenage years in south-west London, Christine's only worries are living in the shadow of her beautiful, dazzling best friend Iris, and avoiding the disapproval of her manager if she's late from her lunch break.

But when Chris is suddenly whisked off her feet by the mysterious - and much older - Ned, her life takes a swift about turn. Choosing to give up her job as a secretary in order to marry, Chris commits herself to life with Ned, only to discover that this beguiling man may not be the person she originally thought...

"I told him that I would do whatever he said, that I would learn from him, that I would trust my life to him. When he thought I was sufficiently conscious of my errors he took me and kissed me until I was breathless with joy and on the edge of hysterical tears; but inside of me a small, cold critic sat aloof..."

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781473679801
  • : Hodder & Stoughton
  • : Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • : June 2015
  • : 2.2 Centimeters X 13 Centimeters X 19.7 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823.912
  • : 352
  • : Pamela Hansford-Johnson