Product detail

The English Girl

The English Girl

Author: Katherine Webb
$24.99(NZD)  inc GST
Description

Joan Seabrook, a fledgling archaeologist, has fulfilled her lifelong dream to travel to Arabia and has arrived in the ancient city of Muscat with her fiance, Rory. Desperate to escape the pain of a personal tragedy, she longs to explore the desert fort of Jabrin and unearth the wonders held within. But Oman is a land lost in time, and in the midst of violent upheaval gaining permission to explore could prove impossible. Joan's disappointment is only eased by the thrill of meeting her childhood heroine, pioneering explorer Maude Vickery, and hearing the stories that captured her imagination and sparked her ambition as a child. The friendship that forms between the two women will change everything. Both have desires to fulfil and secrets to keep. As their bond grows, Joan is inspired by the thrill of her new friend's past and finds herself swept up in a bold and dangerous adventure of Maude's making. Only too late does she begin to question her actions - actions that will spark a wild, and potentially devastating, chain of events. Will the girl that left England for this beautiful but dangerous land ever find her way back? The English Girl is the stunning new novel from Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author Katherine Webb and is perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore.

Reviews

I loved THE ENGLISH GIRL. I was really drawn to both Maude and Joan and was completely absorbed by their exotic adventures. I thought it was a really original working of a dual narrative historical story and felt as authentically and thoroughly researched as The Night Falling. I've loved all Katherine Webb's books and this is a wonderful addition to my collection. After I finished, I found myself miss the searing heat and huge blue skies of the Omani desert. Kate Riordan A vivid tale of adventure, love and friendship set in '50s Arabia. HEAT MAGAZINE A compelling and beautifully written tale of adventure, mystery and love, The English Girl enthralled me from the first page. Set against the exotic backdrop of Arabia, which is both unforgiving and romantic, Webb brings her world to life with skill and passion. Santa Montefiore Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative and her characters breathtakingly real Iona Grey With memorable characters and wonderful detail, Katherine evokes a little-known episode of British history to give a fascinating perspective on a region so much in the news today. Her depiction of the desert kingdom captures all its beauty and danger. Vanessa Lafaye

Author description

Katherine Webb was born in 1977 and grew up in rural Hampshire before reading History at Durham University. She has since spent time living in London and Venice, and now lives in Wiltshire. Having worked as a waitress, au pair, personal assistant, book binder, library assistant, seller of fairy costumes and housekeeper, she now writes full time. www.facebook.com/KatherineWebbAuthor @KWebbAuthor

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781409148548
  • : Orion Publishing Co
  • : Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • : 0.322
  • : November 2016
  • : 198mm X 133mm X 29mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Katherine Webb
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92
  • : 464